Metal Detecting: Notable Finds, Summer 2022

I’m getting caught up on my finds from last year and have enjoyed this walk down memory lane. As always, I’m organizing this post into: Coins, Accessories, and Etc.—-which this time is all about cars!

Coins

Russian coins, Kenyan coins and my first 50-cent piece (Kennedy, 1974)—it was a short summer but I found some great stuff. The oldest were the Indian Heads.

Indian Head Pennies – I found both of these coins in the same dirt pile alongside a road tear-out and right in the middle of town! 1880 and 1882 were my oldest of the summer. I also found a handful of wheats throughout the summer, but all from the ’40s and ’50s.

1942-P War Nickel – I caught this silver nickel in a tiny patch of land at my church, and I’d already hit this spot several times before.

1947 Silver “Roosie” – This silver dime came from a friend’s yard, a friend I actually met while detecting in a park the month before. She was walking her dog and super curious about what I was doing. She invited me to detect her small yard in the center of town, and we’ve been friends ever since!

1943 Silver Washington – I had a meeting down in North Carolina and got invited to detect a yard that dated back to the 1820s. I was super stoked, but had no luck at all. This War Quarter was the best thing I found after about 8 hours of swinging, which is pretty disappointing.

1913 Russian Kopeck – I’ve never found a Russian coin before, and I guess I still haven’t. My then-11-year-old son found this in a friend’s yard, and he doesn’t detect with me too often, but this is his best find ever, so I hope he keeps joining me!

Accessories

Sterling “B” Ring – My twentieth ring ended up being this small piece of sterling silver, which is nice. I love the intricate “B,” fancy lettering that might be unique. I don’t have a photo of my 21st ring, a cheap glass-stone thing. But hey look at that: there’s my first-ever fifty-cent piece.

Etc.

All the etc. pieces I landed during the summer of 2022 were cars. And this isn’t even all of them! I don’t know much about cars, and in this condition, they’re clearly not worth collecting. But if you’ve got any interesting notes about any of them, let me know! I’m just typing here what’s written on the bottom of each.

Matchbox Superfast – No. 8 DE TOMASO PANTERA – Made in Hong Kong © 1975 – Lesney Products & Co (below)

Matchbox Superfast – No. 36 FORMULA 5000 – Made in England – © 1975 Leseney Products & Co (below)

Hot Wheels – © Mattel, Inc, 1979 – Malaysia (below)

Hot Wheels – 80′ CORVETTE – Mattel, Inc, 1982 – Hong Kong (below)

Hot Wheels – ROLLS ROYCE – © Mattel, Inc. 1982 – Malaysia (below)

Playart – CADILLAC ELDORADO – Made in Hong Kong (no date) (below)

Z(?) P363 – CONTINENTAL MARK4 – Hong Kong (no date) (below)

W.T. 407 – Tyrrell Ford F1 – Made in Hong Kong (no date) (below)

Face Values of All the Coins Dug in 2022…

Spring, 2022: $9.42
May, 2022: $11.70
Summer 2022: $30.29
Autumn 2022: $17.73

TOTAL for 2022: $69.14
(TOTAL for 2020-2021: $91.12)

©2023 E.T.

Leave a comment